From a childhood spent in a jazz saxophonist’s collections of world musical instruments, the taste for improvisation and exploration remains. I was introduced to the electric guitar at a very early age, but my curiosity always drew me back to literature and philosophy.

Simultaneously, different projects took place: performances of electronic music with or without synthesizers in Parisian squats (La Miroiterie, La Générale…) alongside many artists, among which the visual artists Benjamin Efrati and Marin Esteban. These projects led me eventually to perform at the Salon d’Art Contemporain de Montrouge

My first experiences in alternative rock projects were with Home & Dry (future Red Money), the model Xenia Tsvirko (Metropolitan Agency), or Alix (future Extraa, future Hier Soir), and they led me from club to club until the Café de la Danse. For a while, I was a studio musician, notably for Matthieu Hubrecht (Mhud, Les 7 Lagunes / Differ Ant). The decisive meeting I had with Jacques Erwan (Libération, Radio France, Le Printemps de Bourges) gave me the chance to start singing and the opportunity to perform at Le Théâtre de la Ville. From there, was revealed to me the existence of a world made of artists’ residencies: I was lucky to be sponsored by La Batterie, Le Zebrock, Arcadi and Île-de-France Region which allowed me to develop my ideas and turn them into projects.

The live shows organised with my collective FC MANIFESTO made it possible to share stages with artists as varied as VOX LOW, MADEMOISELLE K, IGNATUS, ÉQUIPE DE FOOT, STUCK IN THE SOUND, GRAND BLANC, PAULINE DRAND, ETSUKO CHIDA, but little by little the aesthetic changed, and soon the TRISTAN FAUSTT project took shape with one idea in mind: keeping up with the will to explore while using the techniques and pieces of knowledge lyric writing and performing taught me. I want to explore the limits of electronic music, jazz, noise, while keeping a pop outfit as much as possible. 

A first album was recorded in 2019-2020 at Midilive Studios (the former Vogue Studios) and at Le Poisson Barbu thanks to Baby You Can Drive My Car Productions and the support of FONPEPS and SCPP. It will be distributed by KURONEKOCHAT NOIR in October 2021 (depending on the evolution of the Covid-19 crisis).

This will be followed by an acoustic tour but also in full formation with Emilio Meneses Garcia (electric guitar), Nicolas Defeudis (keyboards / machines / percussions / backing vocals), Axel Palcy (bass) and Arthur Ménard (drums) in independent record shops. 

NEWS

In May 2021, I have the chance to be laureate of the ART ZOYD STUDIOS call for projects for which I have proposed an electronic composition for analog synthesizers based on “Symphonie pour le jour où brûleront les cités” by GÉRARD HOURBETTE. This work will be recorded on IMPOSSIBLE RECORDS label and will be released in a Deluxe Edition of three discs including the different versions of this piece.

Tristan Faustt

D’une enfance passée au milieu des collections d’instruments de musique du monde d’un saxophoniste de jazz, il restera le goût des langages improvisés et de l’exploration. Initié très tôt à la guitare électrique, je ne cesserai de tenter de lui échapper, et c’est la littérature et la philosophie qui l’emporteront dans un premier temps.

Simultanément, plusieurs mouvements s’opèrent pourtant : les performances de musique électronique et les synthétiseurs dans les squats parisiens (La Miroiterie, La Générale…) avec notamment les plasticiens Benjamin Efrati et Marin Esteban qui conduisent jusqu’au Salon d’Art Contemporain de Montrouge.

Les premières armes dans des projets plus ou moins rock alternatif, avec Home & Dry (futurs Red Money), la modèle Xenia Tsvirko (Metropolitan Agency), Alix (future Extraa, future Hier Soir), me mènent de clubs en clubs jusqu’au Café de la Danse. Un temps musicien de studio, notamment pour Matthieu Hubrecht (Mhud, Les 7 Lagunes / Differ Ant), c’est la rencontre, décisive, avec Jacques Erwan (Libération, Radio France, Le Printemps de Bourges) qui m’ouvre les portes de la chanson, du Théâtre de la Ville, et me révèle l’existence d’un monde fait de résidences d’artistes : ainsi, La Batterie, le Zebrock, Arcadi, La Région Île-de-France me permettront de faire mûrir mes projets et mes idées.

Les lives avec mon collectif FRENCH CONNECTION MANIFESTO rendent possible les plateaux avec des artistes aussi variés que VOX LOW, MADEMOISELLE KIGNATUS, ÉQUIPE DE FOOTSTUCK IN THE SOUND, GRAND BLANC, PAULINE DRAND, ETSUKO CHIDA, mais peu à peu l’esthétique se modifie, et bientôt c’est le projet TRISTAN FAUSTT qui se dessine avec une seule idée en tête : renouer avec l’exploration des débuts, tout en gardant ce que la chanson m’a appris. Repousser les murs un peu plus loin vers les musiques électroniques, le jazz, le noise, en conservant tant que possible une tenue pop. Offrir lorsque c’est légitime, des évasions vers des formes de musiques plus libres.

Un premier véritable album enregistré en 2019-2020 à Midilive Studios (les anciens Studios Vogue) et au Poisson Barbu est autorisé par les Productions Baby You Can Drive My Car, avec le soutien notamment du FONPEPS et de la SCPP. Il sera distribué par KURONEKO – CHAT NOIR en octobre 2021 (sous réserve situation sanitaire).

S’en suivra, au départ de Lille, une tournée acoustique dans les disquaires indépendants et en formation complète avec Emilio Meneses Garcia (guitare électrique), Nicolas Defeudis (claviers / machines / percussions / choeurs), Axel Palcy (basse) et Arthur Ménard (batterie).

NEWS

En mai 2021, j’ai la chance d’être lauréat de l’appel à projet d’ART ZOYD STUDIOS qui donne lieu à une commande du centre de création. Au programme, une échappée électronique pour synthétiseurs analogiques, autour de « Symphonie pour le jour où brûleront les cités » de GÉRARD HOURBETTE. Une réalisation qui fera l’objet d’un enregistrement sur le label IMPOSSIBLE RECORDS, et qui sortira sur une édition coffret de trois disques comprenant les différentes versions de cette pièce.

Tristan Faustt